Search

Tao Te Ching By Lao Tzu

"The Dao that can be told is not the eternal Dao ⁣

The name that can be named is not the eternal Name. ⁣

The unnamable is the eternally real. Naming is the origin of all particular things. ⁣

Free from desire, you realise the mystery. Caught in desire, you see only the manifestations. ⁣

Yet mystery and manifestations arise from the same source. This source is called darkness. ⁣

Darkness within darkness. The gateway to all understanding."⁣

☯️⁣

"When people see some things as beautiful, other things become ugly. When people see some things as good, other things become bad. ⁣

Being and non-being create each other. Difficult and easy support each other. Long and short define each other. High and low depend on each other. Before and after follow each other. ⁣

Therefore the Master acts without doing anything and teaches without saying anything. Things arise and she lets them come; things disappear and she lets them go. She has but doesn't possess, acts but doesn't expect. When her work is done, she forgets it. That is why it lasts forever."⁣

Tao Te Ching, Lao Tzu, translated by Stephen Mitchell⁣

🍃🕊⁣

Join me for Tea and Poetry tomorrow for a very special ceremony held in reminiscences of glorious literary parties in Ancient China, in honour of the 7th day of the 7th month in the Chinese lunar calendar, also known as Qixi (七夕) / Tanabata / Chilseok / Chinese Valentine's Day, a once-in-a-year reunion of the mythical star-crossed lovers, Weaver Girl and Cowherd Boy, torn asunder by the Silver River in the sky imposed by the wrathful Mother God of Weaver Girl.⁣

🌿 August 25, 5pm BST / 12pm EST / August 26, 12am MYT.



0 views
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube

©2020 by When Still Waters Speak.